Futurewood CleverDeck Original in Mahogany
FuturewoodCompositeSolid core
- Photo 1: Curved garden path and deck in CleverDeck Original Mahogany with a black bench, potted plants and a decorative screen
- Photo 2: Close-up of three CleverDeck Original composite deck boards in Mahogany, showing the surface texture and board gaps
- Photo 3: Elevated deck in CleverDeck Original Weathered Stone with a frameless glass balustrade overlooking trees
- Photo 4: Covered walkway decked in CleverDeck Original Slate Grey at a swimming club, with steel balustrades and a blue mat
- Photo 5: Rural backyard deck in CleverDeck Original Walnut with a dark steel and wire balustrade overlooking paddocks
- Photo 6: Black Bean CleverDeck boards framing an in-ground swim spa on artificial lawn, with outdoor lounges and a pebble border
- Photo 7: Beer garden at the Lord Stanley Hotel decked in CleverDeck Original under a timber pergola, with built-in seating and tropical plants
- Photo 8: Large backyard deck in CleverDeck Original 138 mm Weathered Stone boards beside a pool with glass fencing and outdoor furniture
- Photo 9: Raised Black Bean CleverDeck deck with two wide steps and recessed step lights against a red brick wall
- Photo 10: Hotel courtyard dining area with tables and cane chairs on CleverDeck Original decking under an open timber pergola
- Photo 11: Close-up of three CleverDeck Original composite deck boards in Slate Grey, showing the surface texture and board gaps
- Photo 12: Close-up of three CleverDeck Original composite deck boards in Walnut, showing the surface texture and board gaps
- Photo 13: Close-up of three CleverDeck Original composite deck boards in Weathered Stone, showing the surface texture and board gaps
- Photo 14: Close-up of three CleverDeck Original composite deck boards in Black Bean, showing the surface texture and board gaps
- Board size
- 138 × 23 mm5.4 m lengths
- Cap
- Uncapped
- Core
- Solid
- Fixing
- Hidden clips or face screwsFuturewood Combo Deck Clip (T-100 timber / M-100 metal)
- Warranty
- 10 years, residential
- Joist centres
- 450 mm maxResidential
Mahogany: render colour, indicative. Sampled from the maker’s swatch image (Maker’s web page) on 6 Oct 2026 for the designer’s 3D view; never the real board. Order a sample before you choose.
Other colours of CleverDeck Original (4)
Photos are the maker’s, credited. Render colours are indicative only.
Specifications
Every published fact, with its source and the day it was checked.
- solid coreclip groove13823
Deck board 138 × 23 mm · 5.4 m, drawn with solid core, uncapped, grooved on both edges for hidden clips
The board
| Fact | Published value | Source · checked |
|---|---|---|
| Material | Wood-plastic composite | Maker’s web page · checked |
| Core | Solid | Maker’s web page · checked |
| Cap | Uncapped | Maker’s web page · checked |
| Deck board | 138 × 23 mm, grooved both edges · 5.4 m lengths | Maker’s datasheet · checked |
| Recycled content | 90% How this was readFuturewood says the main ingredients (hardwood wood flour, rice husks and post-industrial recycled polyolefin) are 'classified as recycled' and make up 90% of the material; the 2020 brochure says '90%+' for Original and Eco Pro. This is Futurewood's own classification, not a certified post-consumer figure. | Maker’s web page · checked |
Installation
| Fact | Published value | Source · checked |
|---|---|---|
| Max joist centres, residential | 450 mm How this was readDomestic table: maximum centre-to-centre at 90 deg to the joists, using a minimum of three joists; closer spacing (400 or 300 mm) is stronger. The guide gives domestic figures only. Read from the web Fixing Guidelines page because the March 2023 Original PDF is image-only. | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| Max joist centres, boards laid diagonally | 350 mm How this was readBoards laid at 45 deg to the joists. Same table: 400 mm at 60 deg and 250 mm at 30 deg to the joists. | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| Gap between boards | 6 mm How this was readGap set by the Combo Deck Clip ('automatic spacing of 6mm (+/- manufacturing tolerances)', also stated in the ventilation text; cover 144 mm for the 138 mm board). The fixing table lists 'minimum spacing between boards (side to side) 2-3mm' (the guide does not say what it refers to; the BAL clip gives a 2-3 mm gap). 5 mm to a side wall running parallel to the boards. | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| End gap rule | Cut and lay boards at one temperature, below 30 deg C (mornings in summer/tropics): a 5.4 m board changes length about 2.5 mm per 10 deg C. Gaps: 2-5 mm at butt joins and mitres (boards up to 3 m, below 30 deg C; depends on region and temperature range), 5 mm where boards abut a wall, 2-7 mm between a butt end and a breaker board, 5 mm around protrusions for boards up to 3 m (7 mm over 3 m). | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| Butt joints | Board ends land on a double joist How this was readButt joins are discouraged (preferred method is a breaker board); if used, boards up to 3 m only, over a double joist or cleat (minimum 90 x 45 mm) with 4 Combo clips per join; breaker and border boards should not exceed 3 m. | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| Minimum clearance under the boards | 100 mm How this was readMinimum ground clearance over well-drained ground (guide: 300 mm is ideal "between the boards and the surface beneath the deck"; FAQ says 100 mm above well-drained soil or screenings). Over concrete the minimum is 25 mm with no water pooling and boards fixed to a batten of at least 25 mm. Do not seal off the deck ends; keep the area under the deck dry and free of vegetation. | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| Subframes | timber, steel and aluminium How this was readPer fixing: Futurewood Combo Deck Clip (T-100 timber / M-100 metal) -> timber/steel/aluminium; Futurewood Locking Clip (LT-20 timber / LM-20 metal) -> timber/steel/aluminium; Futurewood Starting/Finishing Clip (SFT-20 timber / SFM-20 metal) -> timber/steel/aluminium; Futurewood BAL Clip (BAL-100) -> timber/steel/aluminium; Face screws through pre-drilled, countersunk holes -> timber | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| Fixing: hidden clip | Futurewood Combo Deck Clip (T-100 timber / M-100 metal) | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| Fixing: hidden clip | Futurewood Locking Clip (LT-20 timber / LM-20 metal) | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| Fixing: hidden clip | Futurewood Starting/Finishing Clip (SFT-20 timber / SFM-20 metal) | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| Fixing: hidden clip | Futurewood BAL Clip (BAL-100) | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| Fixing: face screw | Face screws through pre-drilled, countersunk holes | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| Installation guide | Maker’s install guide · checked |
Tested performance
| Fact | Published value | Source · checked |
|---|---|---|
| Bushfire attack level (AS 3959) | No BAL rating stated How this was readProduct comparison chart: BAL Rating 'Not Rated' for Original. FAQ says Original is 'suitable for BAL-low and in some instances BAL12.5 or BAL19' and points to Xtreme for BAL-29; no AS 1530.8.1 or AS 3959 test report is published. Only AS 1530.3 early-fire-hazard indices are given (ignitability 14, spread of flame 2, heat evolved 3, smoke developed 4). The 'BAL 29 Decking' badge in every page header refers to Xtreme. | Maker’s web page · checked |
| Slip resistance (AS 4586) | P5 (wet pendulum) How this was readFAQ: 'has achieved a P5 rating from ATTAR Laboratories in Melbourne'; the product page chart also shows P5 and the 2020 brochure says 'Standard P 5 slip rated surface finish'. The technical specifications page separately lists 'CSIRO slip test: R11' (method not stated). No report number, AS 4586 appendix or slider is published. | Maker’s web page · checked |
Warranty
| Fact | Published value | Source · checked |
|---|---|---|
| Warranty, residential | 10 years How this was read'Domestic installations'; runs from the date of original purchase from Futurewood or an authorised dealer. | Maker’s warranty · checked |
| Warranty, commercial | 7 years How this was readCommercial installations; same start date. | Maker’s warranty · checked |
| Warranty conditions | Covers manufacturing faults, rot and termite damage if installed and used per Futurewood's published fixing and care and cleaning guidelines. Excludes accident, misuse, fire, acid/alkali, lightning, earthquake and other external causes (except rot and termite), use outside the guidelines, unauthorised modification, use with another product, wear and tear and shipping damage, and ancillary products not sold by Futurewood used in the frame or support structure. Claims need photos and proof of purchase from Futurewood or an authorised dealer; remedy is repair/replace or a refund at Futurewood's option; Futurewood does not pay removal/disposal, re-installation or freight costs. Unlike the Xtreme warranty, there is no colour-variation (fade) cover: 'Colour variation' appears as a bare third item in the 'What the warranty does not cover' list, so it reads as an exclusion. The same warranty covers the Futurewood aluminium subframe and fence-frame systems and EnviroSlat. Transferability, registration and pro-rata terms are not stated. | Maker’s warranty · checked |
Other published facts (10)
Other published facts
| Fact | Published value | Source · checked |
|---|---|---|
| Weight per 5400 mm board | 22-24.2 kg for the 138 x 23 mm Original board (published as 'Weight per Length' for 5400 mm boards; no per-metre figure) | Maker’s datasheet · checked |
| Spec-page material tests | Water absorption 0.31% (ASTM D1037-06a); thermal expansion 5.6 x 10^-5 mm/mm/deg C (ASTM D6341-10); impact resistance > 89 J (ASTM D4495-00 (2005)); density 1.25-1.30 g/cm3 (ASTM D792-08) | Maker’s datasheet · checked |
| Fire (AS 1530.3 early fire hazard indices) | Ignitability 14, spread of flame 2, heat evolved 3, smoke developed 4 (spec page, Original/Eco-Pro section) | Maker’s datasheet · checked |
| Board cover with Combo clip | 138 mm board covers 144 mm (7 boards per lineal metre) | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| Finish | Coarse-sanded non-slip finish on both faces; colour runs through the board and softens over the first 4-12 weeks outdoors | Maker’s web page · checked |
| Custom range | Custom lengths and up to 14 colour options; 86 mm or 138 mm x 23 mm grooved, or 140 x 35 mm / 184 x 24 mm square-edged boards; minimum order quantity, 50% deposit, 9-13 weeks. Not catalogued as profiles because they are made to order. | Maker’s web page · checked |
| Custom-order colours (Colour Explorer) | White, Brown, Beige, Grey, Light Grey, Light Tea, Deep Tea and Platinum are listed under 'Original Decking Custom Colours' (not stock) | Maker’s web page · checked |
| Clearance listing | Hot Deals lists all five stock colours (Slate Grey, Black Bean, Walnut, Mahogany, Weathered Stone) at 10-25% off; the page says discontinued items stay available only as custom orders | Maker’s web page · checked |
| Compatible Futurewood subframe | Design-registered aluminium joist/bearer (25, 50 or 90 mm high x 45 mm wide x 5400 mm) with adjustable pedestals; see brand notes | Maker’s web page · checked |
| Swatch tile images in uploads | The media library holds original-maho-tile.jpg, original-weath-tile.jpg, original-slate-tile.jpg and original-walnut-tile.jpg (uploaded 2023-07-04); these are the swatch URLs used above | Maker’s web page · checked |
These are the rows for this colour’s board. The full specification, with every profile, is on the Futurewood CleverDeck Original page.
Every fact here carries its source and the day it was checked. Documents opened 6 Oct 2026.
Prices by state
Set your state once and every price on this site is quoted for it, including GST. Then this page shows the Futurewood CleverDeck Original prices in your state: each the average of the sellers we track there.
Price on request. No seller we track publishes a Futurewood CleverDeck Original price anywhere in Australia yet. That means no data, not that it isn’t sold.
It can still be quoted: draw your deck in the free designer and get your free deck pack. Local builders and suppliers quote from it.
Customer reviews
Write a review of CleverDeck Original
We publish every review that meets our review policy, positive or negative. Labels show when a reviewer was invited, got something for writing it, or works in the industry.
No reviews yet. Be the first to review it.
Documents
The maker’s own documents, linked where they publish them (never re-hosted).
- Installation guideFuturewood Fixing Guidelines (web page: CleverDeck Original/Eco-Pro, CleverDeck Xtreme and aluminium frame sections; page last modified 2026-09-29)
- DatasheetFuturewood CleverDeck brochure (edition marked 06/2020)
- DatasheetFuturewood Technical Specifications (web page)
- WarrantyFuturewood Warranty - CleverDeck Original, Aluminium Subframe and Fencing Systems, EnviroSlat (last updated July 2026)
All 11 sources behind this page
- CleverDeck Original and Eco-Pro product page (comparison chart, custom options)
- Futurewood FAQs (CleverDeck Xtreme, CleverDeck Original, EnviroSlat)
- Futurewood Cost Estimator tool (fw-ce-calc widget: current decking products and descriptors)
- Futurewood CleverDeck brochure (edition marked 06/2020)
- Futurewood Fixing Guidelines (web page: CleverDeck Original/Eco-Pro, CleverDeck Xtreme and aluminium frame sections; page last modified 2026-09-29)
- Futurewood Technical Specifications (web page)
- Futurewood Warranty - CleverDeck Original, Aluminium Subframe and Fencing Systems, EnviroSlat (last updated July 2026)
- Futurewood Colour Explorer (page and its fw-ce-calc widget script: colour lists and swatch tiles)
- Futurewood Hot Deals (clearance) page
- Futurewood Structural Aluminium Deck Frame & Joist System page
- Futurewood WordPress media library listing (REST API; 2023-07 colour tile images)
Facts are taken from the highest-ranked source (certificates and test reports, then install guides and datasheets, then warranties, then web pages); when sources disagree the specification says so, and safety facts take the conservative value. Every plan the designer draws from these figures is a concept plan, not for construction: the span tables behind its framing have been checked by a structural engineer, but a builder, building surveyor or certifier must check the plan before you build.
Similar boards
Other Futurewood ranges, and boards of the same material in similar colours.
Priceset stateFuturewoodComposite
CleverDeck Eco-Pro
- Black Bean
Board: 138 × 23 mmCap: UncappedFixing: Hidden clips or screwsPrice: Price on request
Priceset stateFuturewoodComposite
CleverDeck Xtreme
- Light Oak
- Rustic Merbau
- Basalt
- Desert Oak
- Blackbutt
- Graphite
- and 1 more
Boards: 138–185 mm wideCap: CappedFixing: Hidden clips or screwsPrice: Price on request
Priceset stateEkodeckComposite
Designer Series
- Alpine Ash
- Ironwood
- Backbeach
- Leatherwood
- Riverbank Red
- Estate Brown
Board: 137 × 23 mmCap: CappedFixing: Hidden clips or screws
Priceset stateModWoodComposite
Xtreme Guard
- Charwood
- Fire Brick
- Koko Brown
- Magnetic Grey
- Sandy Bay
Board: 137 × 23 mmCap: CappedFixing: Hidden clips or screws




