Skip to content

Futurewood CleverDeck Original in Walnut

FuturewoodCompositeSolid core

Priceon request

Price on request

No seller we track publishes a Futurewood CleverDeck Original price anywhere in Australia yet. That means no data, not that it isn’t sold: it can still be quoted.

Get quotes

Draw your deck in the free designer, then get your free deck pack. Local builders and suppliers quote from it.

Set your state

Used for state prices. Kept on this device; never guessed from your location.

Or pick a state
Board size
138 × 23 mm5.4 m lengths
Cap
Uncapped
Core
Solid
Fixing
Hidden clips or face screwsFuturewood Combo Deck Clip (T-100 timber / M-100 metal)
Warranty
10 years, residential
Joist centres
450 mm maxResidential

Walnut: render colour, indicative. Sampled from the maker’s swatch image (Maker’s web page) on 6 Oct 2026 for the designer’s 3D view; never the real board. Order a sample before you choose.

This colour page summarises the Futurewood CleverDeck Original page. Colour page canonicalised to its range: 0 hosted photos (need 6) and no notes unique to this colour.

Other colours of CleverDeck Original (4)

Photos are the maker’s, credited. Render colours are indicative only.

Specifications

Every published fact, with its source and the day it was checked.

  • solid coreclip groove13823

    Deck board 138 × 23 mm · 5.4 m, drawn with solid core, uncapped, grooved on both edges for hidden clips

1 profile drawn to one scale from the published sizes · Maker’s datasheet · checked . Interiors are schematic: cell shapes and cap thickness vary by maker.

The board

FactPublished valueSource · checked
Material
Wood-plastic composite
Maker’s web page · checked
Core
Solid
Maker’s web page · checked
Cap
Uncapped
Maker’s web page · checked
Deck board
138 × 23 mm, grooved both edges · 5.4 m lengths
Maker’s datasheet · checked
Recycled content
90%
How this was read

Futurewood says the main ingredients (hardwood wood flour, rice husks and post-industrial recycled polyolefin) are 'classified as recycled' and make up 90% of the material; the 2020 brochure says '90%+' for Original and Eco Pro. This is Futurewood's own classification, not a certified post-consumer figure.

Maker’s web page · checked

Installation

FactPublished valueSource · checked
Max joist centres, residential
450 mm
How this was read

Domestic table: maximum centre-to-centre at 90 deg to the joists, using a minimum of three joists; closer spacing (400 or 300 mm) is stronger. The guide gives domestic figures only. Read from the web Fixing Guidelines page because the March 2023 Original PDF is image-only.

Maker’s install guide · checked
Max joist centres, boards laid diagonally
350 mm
How this was read

Boards laid at 45 deg to the joists. Same table: 400 mm at 60 deg and 250 mm at 30 deg to the joists.

Maker’s install guide · checked
Gap between boards
6 mm
How this was read

Gap set by the Combo Deck Clip ('automatic spacing of 6mm (+/- manufacturing tolerances)', also stated in the ventilation text; cover 144 mm for the 138 mm board). The fixing table lists 'minimum spacing between boards (side to side) 2-3mm' (the guide does not say what it refers to; the BAL clip gives a 2-3 mm gap). 5 mm to a side wall running parallel to the boards.

Maker’s install guide · checked
End gap rule
Cut and lay boards at one temperature, below 30 deg C (mornings in summer/tropics): a 5.4 m board changes length about 2.5 mm per 10 deg C. Gaps: 2-5 mm at butt joins and mitres (boards up to 3 m, below 30 deg C; depends on region and temperature range), 5 mm where boards abut a wall, 2-7 mm between a butt end and a breaker board, 5 mm around protrusions for boards up to 3 m (7 mm over 3 m).
Maker’s install guide · checked
Butt joints
Board ends land on a double joist
How this was read

Butt joins are discouraged (preferred method is a breaker board); if used, boards up to 3 m only, over a double joist or cleat (minimum 90 x 45 mm) with 4 Combo clips per join; breaker and border boards should not exceed 3 m.

Maker’s install guide · checked
Minimum clearance under the boards
100 mm
How this was read

Minimum ground clearance over well-drained ground (guide: 300 mm is ideal "between the boards and the surface beneath the deck"; FAQ says 100 mm above well-drained soil or screenings). Over concrete the minimum is 25 mm with no water pooling and boards fixed to a batten of at least 25 mm. Do not seal off the deck ends; keep the area under the deck dry and free of vegetation.

Maker’s install guide · checked
Subframes
timber, steel and aluminium
How this was read

Per fixing: Futurewood Combo Deck Clip (T-100 timber / M-100 metal) -> timber/steel/aluminium; Futurewood Locking Clip (LT-20 timber / LM-20 metal) -> timber/steel/aluminium; Futurewood Starting/Finishing Clip (SFT-20 timber / SFM-20 metal) -> timber/steel/aluminium; Futurewood BAL Clip (BAL-100) -> timber/steel/aluminium; Face screws through pre-drilled, countersunk holes -> timber

Maker’s install guide · checked
Fixing: hidden clip
Futurewood Combo Deck Clip (T-100 timber / M-100 metal)
Maker’s install guide · checked
Fixing: hidden clip
Futurewood Locking Clip (LT-20 timber / LM-20 metal)
Maker’s install guide · checked
Fixing: hidden clip
Futurewood Starting/Finishing Clip (SFT-20 timber / SFM-20 metal)
Maker’s install guide · checked
Fixing: hidden clip
Futurewood BAL Clip (BAL-100)
Maker’s install guide · checked
Fixing: face screw
Face screws through pre-drilled, countersunk holes
Maker’s install guide · checked
Installation guideMaker’s install guide · checked

Tested performance

FactPublished valueSource · checked
Bushfire attack level (AS 3959)
No BAL rating stated
How this was read

Product comparison chart: BAL Rating 'Not Rated' for Original. FAQ says Original is 'suitable for BAL-low and in some instances BAL12.5 or BAL19' and points to Xtreme for BAL-29; no AS 1530.8.1 or AS 3959 test report is published. Only AS 1530.3 early-fire-hazard indices are given (ignitability 14, spread of flame 2, heat evolved 3, smoke developed 4). The 'BAL 29 Decking' badge in every page header refers to Xtreme.

Maker’s web page · checked
Slip resistance (AS 4586)
P5 (wet pendulum)
How this was read

FAQ: 'has achieved a P5 rating from ATTAR Laboratories in Melbourne'; the product page chart also shows P5 and the 2020 brochure says 'Standard P 5 slip rated surface finish'. The technical specifications page separately lists 'CSIRO slip test: R11' (method not stated). No report number, AS 4586 appendix or slider is published.

Maker’s web page · checked

Warranty

FactPublished valueSource · checked
Warranty, residential
10 years
How this was read

'Domestic installations'; runs from the date of original purchase from Futurewood or an authorised dealer.

Maker’s warranty · checked
Warranty, commercial
7 years
How this was read

Commercial installations; same start date.

Maker’s warranty · checked
Warranty conditions
Covers manufacturing faults, rot and termite damage if installed and used per Futurewood's published fixing and care and cleaning guidelines. Excludes accident, misuse, fire, acid/alkali, lightning, earthquake and other external causes (except rot and termite), use outside the guidelines, unauthorised modification, use with another product, wear and tear and shipping damage, and ancillary products not sold by Futurewood used in the frame or support structure. Claims need photos and proof of purchase from Futurewood or an authorised dealer; remedy is repair/replace or a refund at Futurewood's option; Futurewood does not pay removal/disposal, re-installation or freight costs. Unlike the Xtreme warranty, there is no colour-variation (fade) cover: 'Colour variation' appears as a bare third item in the 'What the warranty does not cover' list, so it reads as an exclusion. The same warranty covers the Futurewood aluminium subframe and fence-frame systems and EnviroSlat. Transferability, registration and pro-rata terms are not stated.
Maker’s warranty · checked
Other published facts (10)

Other published facts

FactPublished valueSource · checked
Weight per 5400 mm board
22-24.2 kg for the 138 x 23 mm Original board (published as 'Weight per Length' for 5400 mm boards; no per-metre figure)
Maker’s datasheet · checked
Spec-page material tests
Water absorption 0.31% (ASTM D1037-06a); thermal expansion 5.6 x 10^-5 mm/mm/deg C (ASTM D6341-10); impact resistance > 89 J (ASTM D4495-00 (2005)); density 1.25-1.30 g/cm3 (ASTM D792-08)
Maker’s datasheet · checked
Fire (AS 1530.3 early fire hazard indices)
Ignitability 14, spread of flame 2, heat evolved 3, smoke developed 4 (spec page, Original/Eco-Pro section)
Maker’s datasheet · checked
Board cover with Combo clip
138 mm board covers 144 mm (7 boards per lineal metre)
Maker’s install guide · checked
Finish
Coarse-sanded non-slip finish on both faces; colour runs through the board and softens over the first 4-12 weeks outdoors
Maker’s web page · checked
Custom range
Custom lengths and up to 14 colour options; 86 mm or 138 mm x 23 mm grooved, or 140 x 35 mm / 184 x 24 mm square-edged boards; minimum order quantity, 50% deposit, 9-13 weeks. Not catalogued as profiles because they are made to order.
Maker’s web page · checked
Custom-order colours (Colour Explorer)
White, Brown, Beige, Grey, Light Grey, Light Tea, Deep Tea and Platinum are listed under 'Original Decking Custom Colours' (not stock)
Maker’s web page · checked
Clearance listing
Hot Deals lists all five stock colours (Slate Grey, Black Bean, Walnut, Mahogany, Weathered Stone) at 10-25% off; the page says discontinued items stay available only as custom orders
Maker’s web page · checked
Compatible Futurewood subframe
Design-registered aluminium joist/bearer (25, 50 or 90 mm high x 45 mm wide x 5400 mm) with adjustable pedestals; see brand notes
Maker’s web page · checked
Swatch tile images in uploads
The media library holds original-maho-tile.jpg, original-weath-tile.jpg, original-slate-tile.jpg and original-walnut-tile.jpg (uploaded 2023-07-04); these are the swatch URLs used above
Maker’s web page · checked

These are the rows for this colour’s board. The full specification, with every profile, is on the Futurewood CleverDeck Original page.

Every fact here carries its source and the day it was checked. Documents opened 6 Oct 2026.

Prices by state

Set your state once and every price on this site is quoted for it, including GST. Then this page shows the Futurewood CleverDeck Original prices in your state: each the average of the sellers we track there.

Used for state prices. Kept on this device; never guessed from your location.

Or pick a state

Price on request. No seller we track publishes a Futurewood CleverDeck Original price anywhere in Australia yet. That means no data, not that it isn’t sold.

It can still be quoted: draw your deck in the free designer and get your free deck pack. Local builders and suppliers quote from it.

Get quotes with your deck pack

Customer reviews

Write a review of CleverDeck Original

We publish every review that meets our review policy, positive or negative. Labels show when a reviewer was invited, got something for writing it, or works in the industry.

No reviews yet. Be the first to review it.

Documents

The maker’s own documents, linked where they publish them (never re-hosted).

All 11 sources behind this page
  1. CleverDeck Original and Eco-Pro product page (comparison chart, custom options) · Futurewood Pty Ltd · opened
  2. Futurewood FAQs (CleverDeck Xtreme, CleverDeck Original, EnviroSlat) · Futurewood Pty Ltd · opened
  3. Futurewood Cost Estimator tool (fw-ce-calc widget: current decking products and descriptors) · Futurewood Pty Ltd · opened
  4. Futurewood CleverDeck brochure (edition marked 06/2020) · Futurewood Pty Ltd · opened
  5. Futurewood Fixing Guidelines (web page: CleverDeck Original/Eco-Pro, CleverDeck Xtreme and aluminium frame sections; page last modified 2026-09-29) · Futurewood Pty Ltd · opened
  6. Futurewood Technical Specifications (web page) · Futurewood Pty Ltd · opened
  7. Futurewood Warranty - CleverDeck Original, Aluminium Subframe and Fencing Systems, EnviroSlat (last updated July 2026) · Futurewood Pty Ltd · opened
  8. Futurewood Colour Explorer (page and its fw-ce-calc widget script: colour lists and swatch tiles) · Futurewood Pty Ltd · opened
  9. Futurewood Hot Deals (clearance) page · Futurewood Pty Ltd · opened
  10. Futurewood Structural Aluminium Deck Frame & Joist System page · Futurewood Pty Ltd · opened
  11. Futurewood WordPress media library listing (REST API; 2023-07 colour tile images) · Futurewood Pty Ltd · opened

Facts are taken from the highest-ranked source (certificates and test reports, then install guides and datasheets, then warranties, then web pages); when sources disagree the specification says so, and safety facts take the conservative value. Every plan the designer draws from these figures is a concept plan, not for construction: the span tables behind its framing have been checked by a structural engineer, but a builder, building surveyor or certifier must check the plan before you build.

Similar boards

Other Futurewood ranges, and boards of the same material in similar colours.

  • Priceset state

    FuturewoodComposite

    CleverDeck Eco-Pro

    • Black Bean

    Board: 138 × 23 mmCap: UncappedFixing: Hidden clips or screwsPrice: Price on request

  • Priceset state

    FuturewoodComposite

    CleverDeck Xtreme

    • Light Oak
    • Rustic Merbau
    • Basalt
    • Desert Oak
    • Blackbutt
    • Graphite
    • and 1 more

    Boards: 138–185 mm wideCap: CappedFixing: Hidden clips or screwsPrice: Price on request

  • Priceset state

    EkodeckComposite

    Designer Series

    • Alpine Ash
    • Ironwood
    • Backbeach
    • Leatherwood
    • Riverbank Red
    • Estate Brown

    Board: 137 × 23 mmCap: CappedFixing: Hidden clips or screws

  • Priceset state

    ModWoodComposite

    Xtreme Guard

    • Charwood
    • Fire Brick
    • Koko Brown
    • Magnetic Grey
    • Sandy Bay

    Board: 137 × 23 mmCap: CappedFixing: Hidden clips or screws