Skip to content

ModWood Xtreme Guard

ModWoodComposite

$155/m² · AU

From $155 per m² across Australia, inc GST

$118.04 per 5.4 m board

Average of 8 sellers across Australia · prices to 15 Oct 2026

Prices differ by state: set yours for the average where you live.

Set your state

Used for state prices. Kept on this device; never guessed from your location.

Or pick a state
Board size
137 × 23 mm5.4 m lengths
Cap
Capped 4 sidesA tougher outer shell that resists stains and fading
Core
Not published
Fixing
Hidden clips or face screwsKlevaKlip Snap-LOC KSL137N (grooved boards)
Warranty
25 years, residentialFade and stain: 25 years
Joist centres
450 mm maxResidential; 450 mm commercial

Colours (5)

Photos are the maker’s, credited. Render colours are sampled from the maker’s swatch images and are indicative only: order a sample before you choose.

Specifications

Every published fact, with its source and the day it was checked.

  • capclip groove13723

    Deck board 137 × 23 mm · 5.4 m, drawn with core not stated, capped on every face, grooved on both edges for hidden clips

  • 13723

    Deck board 137 × 23 mm · 5.4 m, drawn with core not stated, capped on every face, square edges

2 profiles drawn to one scale from the published sizes · Maker’s datasheet · checked . Interiors are schematic: cell shapes and cap thickness vary by maker.

The board

FactPublished valueSource · checked
Material
Wood-plastic composite
Maker’s datasheet · checked
Cap
Capped on all four sides
Maker’s datasheet · checked
Deck board
137 × 23 mm, grooved both edges · 5.4 m lengths
Maker’s datasheet · checked
Weight (137 × 23)
3.6 kg per metre
How this was read

kg/lm from the August 2026 brochure fixing-specification table.

Maker’s datasheet · checked
Deck board
137 × 23 mm, square edges · 5.4 m lengths
Maker’s datasheet · checked
Weight (137 × 23)
3.6 kg per metre
How this was read

kg/lm from the August 2026 brochure fixing-specification table.

Maker’s datasheet · checked
Made in
Australia
How this was read

Q&A: made in Melbourne, Australia.

Maker’s datasheet · checked

Installation

FactPublished valueSource · checked
Max joist centres, residential
450 mm
Maker’s install guide · checked
Max joist centres, commercial
450 mm
How this was read

Same printed maximum; "suitability for commercial applications: yes" but centres may be reduced depending on concentrated load - contact ModWood for deflection calculation.

Maker’s install guide · checked
Gap between boards
4 mm
Maker’s install guide · checked
End gap rule
Butt joins 2 mm · To walls and solid structures 6 mm · Fix when ambient is below 25 C; do not leave boards in full sun before fixing (board temperature 20-30 C above ambient) - boards "grow" lengthways and butt gaps open once they normalise.
Maker’s install guide · checked
Butt joints
Board ends share a single joist
Maker’s install guide · checked
Minimum clearance under the boards
150 mm
How this was read

Perimeter ventilation mandatory (do not seal deck ends with garden beds, trees or solid objects). Lower ground clearance than the uncapped ranges (300 mm). (also: over concrete 50 mm)

Maker’s install guide · checked
Subframes
timber and steel
Maker’s install guide · checked
Fixing: hidden clip
KlevaKlip Snap-LOC KSL137N (grooved boards)
Maker’s install guide · checked
Fixing: face screw
ModWood colour-coated head screws for square-edge…
How this was read

ModWood colour-coated head screws for square-edge starter boards and irregular shapes: timber T-20 10-gauge x 65 mm stainless 305/316 (August 2026 brochure; the 2019 brochure listed 10-gauge x 50 mm); steel T-20 10-gauge x 40 mm stainless 410 (penetrates up to 4 mm wall)

Maker’s install guide · checked
Installation guideMaker’s install guide · checked

Tested performance

FactPublished valueSource · checked
Bushfire attack level (AS 3959)
No BAL rating stated
How this was read

Only Flame Shield may be used in BAL-rated zones; non-flame-retardant boards must not be used in BAL zones.

Maker’s datasheet · checked
Slip resistance (AS 4586)
P5 (wet pendulum)
Maker’s datasheet · checked

Warranty

FactPublished valueSource · checked
Warranty, residential
25 years
How this was read

Limited durability warranty (rot, warp, crack, split, splinter, termite damage, material defects). Residential = individual residence. Claims in years 11-25 are prorated (south of the Tropic of Capricorn 80/60/40/20/10%; north 50/25/10/5/5%). Transferable once within 5 years of purchase; Australia only; fasteners not supplied by ModWood are not covered; Low-E glass heat damage excluded.

Maker’s warranty · checked
Warranty, commercial
10 years
How this was read

Commercial = any installation other than on an individual residence; 10 years, not prorated per the schedule shown (schedule applies to residential years 11-25).

Maker’s warranty · checked
Fade and stain warranty
25 years
How this was read

Residential only. Fade: colour change of more than 5 Delta E (CIE) units. Stain: permanent staining from food/beverage spills or mould/mildew only if removed with soap/water or mild cleaner within 72 hours; must try cleaning then professional cleaning (claim within 30 days). Same prorated schedule as s6. Painted/coated boards void it.

Maker’s warranty · checked
Other published facts (2)

Other published facts

FactPublished valueSource · checked
Recycled content (as published)
90% recycled materials
Maker’s web page · checked
Fixing notes (as published)
notes: Pack sizes 100 and 350 (timber), 100 (steel). 4 mm packer under the face-fixed starter board. Do not use an impact driver. Cannot be installed over existing decking boards.
Maker’s install guide · checked

Every fact here carries its source and the day it was checked. Documents opened 6 Oct 2026.

Prices by state

Set your state once and every price on this site is quoted for it, including GST. Then this page shows the ModWood Xtreme Guard prices in your state: each the average of the sellers we track there.

Used for state prices. Kept on this device; never guessed from your location.

Or pick a state

ModWood Xtreme Guard: national averages, across Australia

Board sizeAverage $/m²Per boardSellersPrices to
ModWood Xtreme Guard 137 × 23, grooved$155.03$118.04 / 5.4 m8
ModWood Xtreme Guard 137 × 23, square edge$159.87$121.73 / 5.4 m4

Prices from 8 sellers across Australia. We don’t list the whole market, so other sellers may have different prices. Seen 14–15 Oct 2026.

Prices include GST. Each is the average of the sellers we track for that board, each seller counted once, with any price more than 25% from the middle one left out; sample data is badged.

How we get these prices

Each price is an average of the retail prices we have seen for that board, with any price more than 25% above or below the middle price left out. Each seller counts once. Prices include GST and are per square metre of deck (the board’s cover width plus the gap beside it) and per board. Prices were seen on the dates shown on sellers’ own price lists and websites; confirm with the seller before you buy. 2 sellers’ prices were left out as more than 25% from the middle one.

Per lineal metre: ModWood Xtreme Guard 137 × 23, grooved average $21.86 · ModWood Xtreme Guard 137 × 23, square edge average $22.54.

Customer reviews

Write a review of Xtreme Guard

We publish every review that meets our review policy, positive or negative. Labels show when a reviewer was invited, got something for writing it, or works in the industry.

No reviews yet. Be the first to review it.

Documents

The maker’s own documents, linked where they publish them (never re-hosted).

All 10 sources behind this page
  1. ModWood product brochure (August 2026) incl. fixing-specification table and ITI distributor list · ModWood Technologies Pty Ltd · 2026-08 · opened
  2. CodeMark Certificate of Conformity CM70175 Rev2 - ModWood Decking (issued 31 Jul 2025, revalidated 10 Jun 2026, expires 31 Jul 2028) · Bureau Veritas Australia Pty Ltd (certification body); holder ModWood Technologies Pty Ltd · 2026-06-10 · opened
  3. ModWood XTREME GUARD - Fixing Instructions (September 2020) · ModWood Technologies Pty Ltd · 2020-09 · opened
  4. ModWood XTREME GUARD Limited Domestic/Commercial Warranty · ModWood Technologies Pty Ltd · opened
  5. ModWood XTREME GUARD Limited Residential Fade and Stain Warranty · ModWood Technologies Pty Ltd · opened
  6. ModWood XTREME GUARD bulletin: how to identify the correct face (November 2019) · ModWood Technologies Pty Ltd · 2019-11 · opened
  7. Questions and Answers on ModWood (November 2025) · ModWood Technologies Pty Ltd · 2025-11 · opened
  8. ModWood - Xtreme Guard product page · ModWood Technologies Pty Ltd · opened
  9. NEW CAPPED XTREME GUARD brochure (October 2019 edition); copy hosted by Bendigo Timber · ModWood Technologies Pty Ltd (copy hosted by a retailer) · 2019-10 · opened
  10. ModWood - Colour range page (swatches) · ModWood Technologies Pty Ltd · opened

Facts are taken from the highest-ranked source (certificates and test reports, then install guides and datasheets, then warranties, then web pages); when sources disagree the specification says so, and safety facts take the conservative value. Every plan the designer draws from these figures is a concept plan, not for construction: the span tables behind its framing have been checked by a structural engineer, but a builder, building surveyor or certifier must check the plan before you build.

Similar boards

Other ModWood ranges, and boards of the same material in similar colours.

  • Priceset state

    ModWoodComposite

    Flame Shield

    • Black Bean
    • Jarrah
    • Sahara
    • Silver Gum

    Board: 137 × 23 mmCap: UncappedFixing: Hidden clips or screws

  • Priceset state

    ModWoodComposite

    Marina

    • Black Bean
    • Jarrah
    • Sahara
    • Silver Gum

    Board: 137 × 32 mmCap: UncappedFixing: Hidden clips or screws

  • Priceset state

    ModWoodComposite

    Natural Grain

    • Black Bean
    • Jarrah
    • Sahara
    • Silver Gum

    Boards: 88–137 mm wideCap: UncappedFixing: Hidden clips or screws

  • Priceset state

    NewTechWoodComposite

    Terrace

    • Antique
    • Blackbutt
    • Teak
    • Ipe
    • Silver Grey

    Board: 138 × 25 mmCap: CappedFixing: Hidden clips or screws