NewTechWood Soho
NewTechWoodComposite
- Photo 1: NewTechWood Soho composite decking board in Blonde Oak, a pale honey tone, shown end-on against black
- Photo 2: Flat lay of NewTechWood Soho Merbau boards, a rich red-brown, with stone, leather and paint colour samples
- Photo 3: Computer-rendered rooftop terrace decked in NewTechWood Soho Grey Ironbark with umbrellas and lounges, city skyline
- Photo 4: Flat lay of NewTechWood Soho boards in several colours with tiles, stone, plants and paint swatches
- Photo 5: Flat lay of NewTechWood Soho Blonde Oak boards with green tiles, stone, timber and paint colour samples
$114 per m² across Australia, inc GST
$87 per 5.4 m board
Set your state
3 colours: pick one to see it
- Board size
- 138 × 25 mm5.4 m lengths
- Cap
- Capped all roundA tougher outer shell that resists stains and fading
- Core
- Not published
- Fixing
- Hidden clips or face screwsTC28T timber-fix clip (5.5 mm gap) with 8G x 35 mm screw
- Warranty
- 15 years, residentialSources disagree: see the specifications
- Joist centres
- 450 mm maxResidential
Recommended Recommended and featured on the deck designer. Design with this board
Why we recommend it
Composite Decks picks these ranges: they are the boards we know well, and the deck designer is built around them. No brand or seller pays for the place. Every other range we track is listed below them in the usual order.
Colours (3)
Photos are the maker’s, credited. Render colours are sampled from the maker’s swatch images and are indicative only: order a sample before you choose.
Specifications
Every published fact, with its source and the day it was checked.
- capclip groove13825
Deck board 138 × 25 mm · 5.4 m, drawn with core not stated, capped on every face, grooved on both edges for hidden clips
- 13825
Edge board 138 × 25 mm · 5.4 m, drawn with core not stated, capped on every face, one grooved and one square edge
The board
| Fact | Published value | Source · checked |
|---|---|---|
| Material | Wood-plastic composite | Maker’s web page · checked |
| Cap | Capped all round (360°) | Maker’s web page · checked |
| Deck board | 138 × 25 mm, grooved both edges · 5.4 m lengths | Maker’s web page · checked |
| Weight (138 × 25) | 4 kg per metre | Maker’s web page · checked |
| Edge board | 138 × 25 mm, one grooved and one square edge · 5.4 m lengths | Maker’s web page · checked |
| Weight (138 × 25) | 4.1 kg per metre | Maker’s web page · checked |
| Made in | China How this was readFAQ (also repeated on the Soho, Terrace and Coastal pages): NewTechWood is an American family-owned company which built its own quality-controlled manufacturing plant in China, managed on site by the American owners. | Maker’s web page · checked |
Installation
| Fact | Published value | Source · checked |
|---|---|---|
| Max joist centres, residential | 450 mm | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| Gap between boards | 3 mmSources disagree. Maker’s install guide says 5.5 (TC28T timber-fix clip.). The published value comes from the higher-ranked source; safety facts take the conservative one. | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| End gap rule | Formula: gap (mm) = 0.04 x board length (m) x (regional max or min temp (°C) - install temp (°C)) · Total gap table: unit: mm between boards; halve if a gap is left at each end; installation temperature (°C): 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40, 45; 4.88 m: 7.8, 6.8, 5.9, 4.9, 3.9, 2.9, 2, 1; 5.4 m: 8.6, 7.6, 6.5, 5.4, 4.3, 3.2, 2.2, 1.1 · Rule of thumb: FAQ: profiles expand about 1.1 mm per metre from 15 C to high ambients · computed, not quoted | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| Butt joints | Board ends land on a double joist | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| Minimum clearance under the boards | 100 mm | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| Subframes | timber and steel How this was readTimber joists and steel joists (Metal Fix screws/clips). Aluminium joists are not named in the guide. NTW boards cannot be used as structural members. | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| Fixing: hidden clip | TC28T timber-fix clip (5.5 mm gap) with 8G x 35 mm screw | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| Fixing: hidden clip | MG10 MBK clip + MG10 LBK locking clip How this was readMG10 MBK clip + MG10 LBK locking clip (3 mm gap) with 8G x 30 mm (timber) or 10G x 25 mm (metal) screws | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| Fixing: hidden clip | Cobra M-Clip (metal framing) | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| Fixing: hidden clip | Starter clips MG3 (starter) and K37 (start/end) | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| Fixing: face screw | CS 8G x 50 mm (fascia/screening) | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| Fixing: face screw | CDS 10G x 65 mm decking/fascia screw | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| Fixing: face screw | CSM 12G x 45 mm decking/fascia metal screw | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| Installation guide | Maker’s install guide · checked |
Tested performance
| Fact | Published value | Source · checked |
|---|---|---|
| Bushfire attack level (AS 3959) | BAL-29 · conditions: Not published beyond the claim. | Maker’s web page · checked |
| Slip resistance (AS 4586) | P3 (wet pendulum)Sources disagree. Maker’s datasheet says P2 (Superseded Soho technical sheet v20251212.). The published value comes from the higher-ranked source; safety facts take the conservative one. | Maker’s datasheet · checked |
Warranty
| Fact | Published value | Source · checked |
|---|---|---|
| Warranty, residential | 15 yearsSources disagree. Maker’s warranty says 25 (November 2025 NTW warranty: NewTechWood decking 25 years residential / 10 years other (no Soho exception; pre-dates Soho).). The published value comes from the higher-ranked source; safety facts take the conservative one. | Maker’s web page · checked |
Other published facts (2)
Other published facts
| Fact | Published value | Source · checked |
|---|---|---|
| Recycled content (as published) | 95% recycled material How this was readMarketed as "made from 95% recycled materials". | Maker’s web page · checked |
| Fixing notes (as published) | notes: Do not face-fix the whole deck; the last board is face-fixed and pre-drilled. Face screws at least 38 mm from board ends and edges, driven at 90 degrees, pre-drilled slightly oversize. Metal Fix screws suit steel joists up to 2 mm thick; thicker steel must be pre-drilled. Metal Fix clips are not covered by the warranty on Stratco Probeam or similar double-wall steel profiles. | Maker’s install guide · checked |
Every fact here carries its source and the day it was checked. Documents opened 6 Oct 2026.
Prices by state
Set your state once and every price on this site is quoted for it, including GST. Then this page shows the NewTechWood Soho prices in your state: each the average of the sellers we track there.
NewTechWood Soho: national averages, across Australia
| Board size | Average $/m² | Per board | Sellers | Prices to |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NewTechWood Soho 138 × 25 | $114.26 | $87 / 5.4 m | 1 |
Prices from 1 seller across Australia. We don’t list the whole market, so other sellers may have different prices. Seen 14 Oct 2026.
Prices include GST. Each is the average of the sellers we track for that board, each seller counted once, with any price more than 25% from the middle one left out; sample data is badged.
How we get these prices
Each price is an average of the retail prices we have seen for that board, with any price more than 25% above or below the middle price left out. Each seller counts once. Prices include GST and are per square metre of deck (the board’s cover width plus the gap beside it) and per board. Prices were seen on the dates shown on sellers’ own price lists and websites; confirm with the seller before you buy.
Per lineal metre: NewTechWood Soho 138 × 25 average $16.11.
Customer reviews
We publish every review that meets our review policy, positive or negative. Labels show when a reviewer was invited, got something for writing it, or works in the industry.
No reviews yet. Be the first to review it.
Documents
The maker’s own documents, linked where they publish them (never re-hosted).
- Installation guideSoho Decking Installation Guide v6-2026/AUS (August 2026) - US166R, US163R
- DatasheetSoho Decking Technical Sheet v20260803 (US166R; September 2026 upload)
- DatasheetSoHo Decking Technical Sheet v20251212 (US166R/US163R; uploaded April 2026)
All 6 sources behind this page
- NewTechWood - Soho Decking Range page (new product; 15-year warranty claim)
- Soho Decking Installation Guide v6-2026/AUS (August 2026) - US166R, US163R
- Soho Decking Technical Sheet v20260803 (US166R; September 2026 upload)
- SoHo Decking Technical Sheet v20251212 (US166R/US163R; uploaded April 2026)
- NewTechWood - Frequently asked questions (where it is made, warranty, joist spans)
- NewTechWood Warranty (issued by Urban Direct Wholesale Pty Ltd), November 2025 - Decking 25 yr residential / 10 yr other, stain and fade 5 Delta E (Hunter), prorated claim table
Facts are taken from the highest-ranked source (certificates and test reports, then install guides and datasheets, then warranties, then web pages); when sources disagree the specification says so, and safety facts take the conservative value. Every plan the designer draws from these figures is a concept plan, not for construction: the span tables behind its framing have been checked by a structural engineer, but a builder, building surveyor or certifier must check the plan before you build.
Similar boards
Other NewTechWood ranges, and boards of the same material in similar colours.
Priceset stateNewTechWoodComposite
Terrace
- Antique
- Blackbutt
- Teak
- Ipe
- Silver Grey
Board: 138 × 25 mmCap: CappedFixing: Hidden clips or screws
Priceset stateNewTechWoodComposite
Avenue
- Antique
- Teak
- Walnut
Board: 138 × 29 mmCap: CappedFixing: Hidden clips or screws
Priceset stateNewTechWoodComposite
Coastal
- Beech
- Antique
- Teak
- Aged Wood
Board: 210 × 23 mmCap: CappedFixing: Hidden clips or screws
Priceset stateNewTechWoodComposite
Marina
- Antique
- Blackbutt
- Ipe
Board: 210 × 36 mmCap: CappedFixing: Hidden clips or screwsPrice: Price on request


