Brite Decking HD PRO in Slate Grey
Brite DeckingCompositeSolid core
- Photo 1: Covered alfresco deck in dark Brite HD PRO Slate Grey with grey outdoor lounges and a lawn in a Concord West backyard
- Photo 2: Close-up of Brite HD PRO composite deck boards in Slate Grey, a near-black charcoal woodgrain, with a mitred picture-frame corner
- Photo 3: Resort pool deck in Brite HD PRO Antique at Yatule Resort in Fiji, lined with grey outdoor lounges beside a long pool
- Photo 4: Curved Brite HD PRO Aussie Redwood deck in a Homebush backyard with a raised spa, garden bed and shade sail
- Photo 5: Brite HD PRO Light Grey decked steps lit at dusk, leading down from a covered alfresco to a lawn and glass-fenced pool in Illawong
- Photo 6: Pale Brite HD PRO Smoke White deck edged with terracotta pots and a low hedge on a rural property at High Range
- Photo 7: Brite HD PRO Spotted Gum deck under a covered patio with a white bench table and a pool in a Picnic Point backyard
- Photo 8: Close-up of Brite HD PRO composite deck boards in Merbau, a deep red-brown woodgrain, with a mitred picture-frame corner
- Photo 9: Close-up of Brite HD PRO composite deck boards in Aussie Oak, a pale honey woodgrain, with a mitred picture-frame corner
- Photo 10: Close-up of Brite HD PRO composite deck boards in Coastal Sand, a pale cream woodgrain, with a mitred picture-frame corner
- Photo 11: Close-up of Brite HD PRO composite deck boards in Black Walnut, a dark chocolate woodgrain, with a mitred picture-frame corner
- Photo 12: Close-up of Brite HD PRO composite deck boards in Antique, a weathered grey-brown woodgrain, with a mitred picture-frame corner
- Photo 13: Close-up of Brite HD PRO composite deck boards in Smoke White, a pale whitewashed grey woodgrain, with a mitred picture-frame corner
- Photo 14: Close-up of Brite HD PRO composite deck boards in Spotted Gum, a mid-brown streaked woodgrain, with a mitred picture-frame corner
- Photo 15: Close-up of Brite HD PRO composite deck boards in Light Grey, a silver-grey woodgrain, with a mitred picture-frame corner
- Photo 16: Close-up of Brite HD PRO composite deck boards in Aussie Redwood, a warm orange-brown woodgrain, with a mitred picture-frame corner
$141 per m² across Australia, inc GST
$108.90 per 5.4 m board
Set your state
- Board size
- 138 × 23 mm5.4 m lengths
- Cap
- Not published
- Core
- Solid
- Fixing
- Hidden clips or face screwsBriteDeck plastic concealed deck clips, starter clips…
- Warranty
- 25 years, residential
- Joist centres
- 450 mm maxResidential; 400 mm commercial
Slate Grey: render colour, indicative. Sampled from the maker’s swatch image (Maker’s web page) on 6 Oct 2026 for the designer’s 3D view; never the real board. Order a sample before you choose.
Other colours of HD PRO (9)
Photos are the maker’s, credited. Render colours are indicative only.
Specifications
Every published fact, with its source and the day it was checked.
- solid coreclip groove13823
Deck board 138 × 23 mm · 5.4 m, drawn with solid core, cap not stated, grooved on both edges for hidden clips
- 13815
Fascia 138 × 15 mm · 2.7 m, drawn with solid core, cap not stated
- 13823
Edge board 138 × 23 mm · 5.4 m, drawn with solid core, cap not stated, bullnose edge
The board
| Fact | Published value | Source · checked |
|---|---|---|
| Material | Wood-plastic composite | Maker’s datasheet · checked |
| Core | Solid | Maker’s datasheet · checked |
| Deck board | 138 × 23 mm, grooved both edges · 5.4 m lengths | Maker’s datasheet · checked |
Installation
| Fact | Published value | Source · checked |
|---|---|---|
| Max joist centres, residential | 450 mm How this was readGuide p.7: HD PRO 138x23x5.4 m optimal residential span 450 mm (also the brochure and product page; the overview page shows 400). Acronem engineering certificate supports 450 mm maximum support spacing for domestic loads (2 kPa, 1.5 kN/m, 1.8 kN), 45 mm minimum bearing width, each board over at least two spans. | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| Max joist centres, commercial | 400 mm How this was readGuide p.7 and brochure: 400 mm. The Acronem appraisal excludes any "commercial span" shown in Brite literature. | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| Gap between boards | 5 mmSources disagree. Maker’s web page says 3 (Optional stainless steel clips (extra cost) give a 3 mm gap; the bushfire page says BAL installs typically use them.); Maker’s web page says 6 (Accessories page: the supplied plastic clips leave a 5-6 mm gap.). The published value comes from the higher-ranked source; safety facts take the conservative one. | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| End gap rule | Minimum total end-to-end gap at every board intersection (butt joints and breaker boards) depends on board length and the air temperature when installing (guide p.8). 1 m of board needs 1.5 mm at 10 C, 1.0 mm at 20 C, 0.5 mm at 30 C and 0.2 mm at 40 C (2 m: 3.0/2.0/1.0/0.4; 3 m: 4.5/3.0/1.5/0.6; 4 m: 6.0/4.0/2.0/0.8; 5.4 m: 8.1/5.4/2.7/1.0; 5.8 m: 8.4/5.6/2.8/1.1 mm). For the 5.4 m board that is 8.1, 5.4, 2.7 and 1.0 mm at 10, 20, 30 and 40 C. Rule of thumb: warmer installation = narrower gap, colder = wider gap. How this was readTable read from the rendered guide page. The guide's rule of thumb also says "maximum 5mm" although its own table lists totals up to 8.4 mm and its worked example gives 8.1 mm. An older FAQ says "allow 2mm for every plus or minus six degrees... up to a maximum of 6mm". | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| Butt joints | Board ends land on a double joist How this was readGuide p.16: stagger butt joints and land each board end on a double joist (one joist per board end); clips on the edge of each board, 4 clips per butt joint. Breaker boards (set across the run on their own joists) are strongly recommended for deck lengths over 4 m, and anti-creep clips are required for board lengths over 4 m. | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| Minimum clearance under the boards | 300 mm How this was readGuide pp.4 and 7: at least 30 cm ground clearance beneath the deck over normal ground (soil); boards must sit on a ventilated substructure, never directly on the ground, and the deck must not be boxed in. Over concrete or hard surfaces the table gives a 3 cm minimum clearance (composite battens 57x32 mm at up to 450 mm centres). Maximum board overhang 20 mm. | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| Subframes | timber and steel How this was readPer fixing: BriteDeck plastic concealed deck clips, starter clips and screws (supplied with board orders) -> timber/steel; Stainless steel deck and starter clips (optional, extra cost; 3 mm board gap) -> subframes not stated; Anti-creep clips (nylon/plastic and metal versions) -> subframes not stated; Fascia and vertical-use face-fix screws (customer-supplied) -> subframes not stated | Maker’s web page · checked |
| Fixing: hidden clip | BriteDeck plastic concealed deck clips, starter clips… How this was readBriteDeck plastic concealed deck clips, starter clips and screws (supplied with board orders) | Maker’s web page · checked |
| Fixing: hidden clip | Stainless steel deck and starter clips (optional, extra cost; 3 mm board gap) | Maker’s web page · checked |
| Fixing: hidden clip | Anti-creep clips (nylon/plastic and metal versions) | Maker’s web page · checked |
| Fixing: face screw | Fascia and vertical-use face-fix screws (customer-supplied) | Maker’s web page · checked |
| Installation guide | Maker’s install guide · checked |
Tested performance
| Fact | Published value | Source · checked |
|---|---|---|
| Bushfire attack level (AS 3959) | No BAL rating stated How this was readHD PRO brochure (August 2026): standard boards are "Fire properties: Standard". BAL-29 is claimed only for the custom-order "Fire Protect" version (see other facts), so the standard board carries no BAL rating. | Maker’s datasheet · checked |
| Slip resistance (AS 4586) | P4 (wet pendulum) How this was readAS 4586:2013 on item 138S23-K (Intertek GZHH00488894, 21 Jul 2023): wet pendulum (App A, slider 96) P4 in the length direction (SRV 46) and P5 across the width (SRV 55); oil-wet inclining platform (App D) R11 (19.5 deg length, 23 deg width). Brite markets "P5/R11"; the lower pendulum class is recorded. The Acronem NCC appraisal quotes the same result as "P4 (longitudinal), P5 (across), R11". | Intertek Testing Services slip test report · checked |
| Slip resistance (AS 4586) | R11 (oil-wet ramp) How this was readAS 4586:2013 on item 138S23-K (Intertek GZHH00488894, 21 Jul 2023): wet pendulum (App A, slider 96) P4 in the length direction (SRV 46) and P5 across the width (SRV 55); oil-wet inclining platform (App D) R11 (19.5 deg length, 23 deg width). Brite markets "P5/R11"; the lower pendulum class is recorded. The Acronem NCC appraisal quotes the same result as "P4 (longitudinal), P5 (across), R11". | Intertek Testing Services slip test report · checked |
Warranty
| Fact | Published value | Source · checked |
|---|---|---|
| Warranty, residential | 25 years How this was readWarranty page table: HD PRO 25 years residential (brochure: "protected by a 25-year product warranty"). | Maker’s warranty · checked |
| Warranty, commercial | 15 years How this was readWarranty page table: 15 years commercial, subject to the conditions in the full warranty document. The Merbau page shows 15 years too. | Maker’s warranty · checked |
| Warranty conditions | Voluntary limited product warranty (on top of Australian Consumer Law rights) for eligible Brite composite decking supplied for installation in Australia. Covers qualifying manufacturing defects that materially impair the board's intended function; ordinary fading, weathering and appearance change that does not impair function is not covered. Remedy is product-only and pro-rata: no labour, removal, disposal, freight, rectification, reinstatement, reinstallation or consequential loss. Claim promptly by email or phone with proof of purchase, installation address, range/colour/quantity, photos or video and installation details; Brite may inspect. Commercial cover is subject to the conditions of the full warranty document. How this was readTaken from the web summary because the full v1.4 (September 2026) PDF link is dead (404). Transferability, registration and pro-rata schedule could not be confirmed; the July 2024 T&C PDF said the warranty was for the original purchaser only (first subsequent user covered where a builder bought the product) with claims lodged within 72 hours of the defect becoming apparent. | Maker’s warranty · checked |
Other published facts (13)
Other published facts
| Fact | Published value | Source · checked |
|---|---|---|
| Board weight | 20 kg per 5.4 m board; bullnose 20 kg; fascia 7 kg. Boards per 10 m2: 14. Overhang 20 mm. How this was readPer-board weights only; the Merbau page lists "3.8kg" (apparently per metre), so per-metre weight is not recorded. | Maker’s datasheet · checked |
| Reversible colour pairs | Each board has a different colour on each face: Antique / Smoke White; Aussie Oak / Aussie Redwood; Merbau / Spotted Gum; Slate Grey / Light Grey; Coastal Sand / Black Walnut (brochure says "Dark Walnut"). How this was readBrochure labels the first pair "Antique" and the last pair "Coastal Sand & Dark Walnut"; the web page says "Black Walnut x Coastal Sand". The palette page lists only six of the ten faces with swatches. | Maker’s datasheet · checked |
| Composition | NCC appraisal: wood plastic composite blended from reclaimed timber and used and virgin HDPE; brochure: reclaimed timber and HDPE with a solid core. | Maker’s datasheet · checked |
| Composition stated in the install guide | BriteDeck composites: reclaimed timber 45% and a mix of used and virgin HDPE 40%, balance colour additives; the "ASA board" is described as cellular PVC with dual-capped ASA. How this was readGeneric statement for the whole brand; recycled share of the HDPE is not stated, so no recycledContentPct is recorded. | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| NCC 2022 (Amdt.1) engineering evaluation | Acronem Consulting engineering certificate (2 May 2025) for 138x23 HD Pro: suitable for AS/NZS 1170.1 Table 3.1 domestic and residential activities (balconies and decks of self-contained dwellings), max 450 mm support spacing, installed per Installation Guide V062022 (an earlier edition than the July 2026 guide). A Victorian certificate of compliance exists; a QLD Form 15 is available on request. | Maker’s datasheet · checked |
| Slip classes quoted in the NCC appraisal | AS 4586: P4 (longitudinal), P5 (across), R11 from Intertek GZHH00488894; termite resistance rating 10 (AWPA E1-23) from an Intertek test. How this was readThe appraisal covers domestic and residential self-contained dwelling loads only and excludes commercial span, BAL and AS 1530 fire testing. | Maker’s datasheet · checked |
| Factory named on Brite-published test reports | Huangshan Huasu New Material Science & Technology Co., Ltd, Chengbei Industrial Zone, Huizhou District, Huangshan City, Anhui, China; item "Co-Extrusion Composite Decking" 138S23-K. How this was readHuasu is the applicant and manufacturer on the Intertek and AWTA reports Brite posts for HD PRO; the NCC appraisal ties 138S23-K to Brite HD Pro. Brite does not state a manufacturer. | Intertek Testing Services slip test report · checked |
| Warringtonfire AS 1530.8.1 deck test ("Flame Protect") | AS 1530.8.1:2007 simulated bushfire test, BAL-29 (A29), crib class A, tested 19 Nov 2018, report FRT200102.1 issued 6 May 2020: "Brite Decking WPC Traditional Solid" 137x23 mm boards at about 1.9 mm spacing with the Brite hidden fastener over a 90x45 F17 hardwood subframe, fibreglass fabric simulating an enclosed subfloor, plus a 137x23 mm fascia board. How this was readBrite lists this under "Other Test Certificate: Flame Protect", not under HD Pro; whether the current HD PRO BAL board is the tested "Traditional Solid" board is not stated. | Maker’s BAL test report · checked |
| Warringtonfire certificate of test | SFCFRT200102.1 (6 May 2020) summarises FRT200102.1 as BAL-29, crib class A, and states it is for general information only and does not meet the regulatory requirements for evidence of compliance. | Warringtonfire BAL test report · checked |
| BAL-29 installation tips (Brite bushfire page) | FAQ: BAL-29 installs typically use 3 mm deck clips (not the standard 6 mm) and a non-combustible subframe such as galvanised steel; HD PRO BAL colours listed: Slate Grey, Light Grey, Merbau, Spotted Gum; HD PRO "BAL 29 options upon request"; page cites AS 1530.8.1:2018 and AS 1530.4:2014. How this was readMarketing page (modified 21 Sep 2026); the HD PRO tests actually posted are the AWTA Appendix F2 report and a 2018 Warringtonfire test of a different board. | Maker’s web page · checked |
| Diagonal layout rule | If boards are laid at an angle, the furthest support joist along the board must not exceed the optimal span listed for the range (guide p.7). No separate diagonal joist-centre figure is given. | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| Coating and drilling conditions | Guide: do not paint, stain, wax, oil or varnish the boards (voids the warranty); all direct screw fixings (face-fix, anti-creep) must be pre-drilled or the board may split and the warranty may be voided. | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| BAL-29 "Fire Protect" version (custom order) | BAL-29 claimed for a custom-order Fire Protect version (nominated colours, 80 m2 minimum order, 6-8 weeks lead time). The posted evidence is an AS/NZS 3837 cone-calorimeter test (AWTA 20-005673), not an AS 1530.8.1 deck test. How this was readApplies only to the HD PRO BAL variant ("Fire Protect"), a custom-order product: nominated colour combinations (web: Slate Grey, Light Grey, Merbau, Spotted Gum), minimum order 80 m2, lead time 6-8 weeks (Aug 2026 brochure); the standard board is not BAL rated ("Fire properties: Standard"). Evidence posted by Brite is NOT an AS 1530.8.1 deck test on the current board: AWTA report 20-005673 (5 Nov 2020) is an AS/NZS 3837 cone-calorimeter test at 25 kW/m2 of a 25 mm Wood/Polyethylene/Additives composite decking sample supplied by Huangshan Huasu (specimens failed to ignite in 10 minutes), with statements of compliance to AS 3959-2018 Appendix F2 (bushfire-resisting timber) and clause 7.7.2.4 (BAL-29 decking). Separately, a Warringtonfire AS 1530.8.1:2007 BAL-29 deck test (2018) covers a different board, "WPC Traditional Solid" 137x23 mm (see otherFacts). Brite's FAQ says BAL installs typically use 3 mm clips (not standard 6 mm) and a non-combustible subframe such as galvanised steel. The NCC appraisal for HD PRO explicitly excludes AS 1530.8 bushfire testing and BAL applications. | AWTA Product Testing BAL test report · checked |
These are the rows for this colour’s board. The full specification, with every profile, is on the Brite Decking HD PRO page.
Every fact here carries its source and the day it was checked. Documents opened 6 Oct 2026.
Prices by state
Set your state once and every price on this site is quoted for it, including GST. Then this page shows the Brite Decking HD PRO prices in your state: each the average of the sellers we track there.
Brite Decking HD PRO: national averages, across Australia
| Board size | Average $/m² | Per board | Sellers | Prices to |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Brite Decking HD PRO 138 × 23 | $141.03 | $108.90 / 5.4 m | 1 |
Prices from 1 seller across Australia. We don’t list the whole market, so other sellers may have different prices. Seen 15 Oct 2026.
Prices include GST. Each is the average of the sellers we track for that board, each seller counted once, with any price more than 25% from the middle one left out; sample data is badged.
How we get these prices
Each price is an average of the retail prices we have seen for that board, with any price more than 25% above or below the middle price left out. Each seller counts once. Prices include GST and are per square metre of deck (the board’s cover width plus the gap beside it) and per board. Prices were seen on the dates shown on sellers’ own price lists and websites; confirm with the seller before you buy.
Per lineal metre: Brite Decking HD PRO 138 × 23 average $20.17.
Customer reviews
We publish every review that meets our review policy, positive or negative. Labels show when a reviewer was invited, got something for writing it, or works in the industry.
No reviews yet. Be the first to review it.
Documents
The maker’s own documents, linked where they publish them (never re-hosted).
- Installation guideBrite Decking - Composite Decking Installation Guide V072026 (July 2026), 32 pages
- DatasheetHD PRO brochure, August 2026 (2 pages)
- Slip test reportIntertek test report GZHH00488894: Co-Extrusion Composite Decking 138S23-K, AS 4586:2013 slip (App A and D), UV, density, loads etc.; issued 21 Jul 2023
- DatasheetAcronem Consulting NCC 2022 (Amdt.1) Appraisal Report ACA 241108 for Brite Decking HD Pro 138 x 23 mm (1 May 2025, 103 pages)
- WarrantyBrite Decking - Warranty Information page (limited product warranty summary for HD Urban X, HD PRO and NextGen Titanium; the linked full PDF v1.4 September 2026 returned HTTP 404 on 2026-10-06)
- Bushfire (BAL) test reportAWTA Product Testing report 20-005673: AS/NZS 3837-1998 cone calorimeter at 25 kW/m2 with AS 3959-2018 Appendix F2 and clause 7.7.2.4 compliance statements; issued 5 Nov 2020 (listed by Brite as "HD PRO - BAL29 - Test Report")
All 13 sources behind this page
- HD PRO brochure, August 2026 (2 pages)
- Brite Decking - HD Pro product page (page modified 2026-09-25)
- Intertek test report GZHH00488894: Co-Extrusion Composite Decking 138S23-K, AS 4586:2013 slip (App A and D), UV, density, loads etc.; issued 21 Jul 2023
- Acronem Consulting NCC 2022 (Amdt.1) Appraisal Report ACA 241108 for Brite Decking HD Pro 138 x 23 mm (1 May 2025, 103 pages)
- Brite Decking - Composite Decking Installation Guide V072026 (July 2026), 32 pages
- Brite Decking - Warranty Information page (limited product warranty summary for HD Urban X, HD PRO and NextGen Titanium; the linked full PDF v1.4 September 2026 returned HTTP 404 on 2026-10-06)
- AWTA Product Testing report 20-005673: AS/NZS 3837-1998 cone calorimeter at 25 kW/m2 with AS 3959-2018 Appendix F2 and clause 7.7.2.4 compliance statements; issued 5 Nov 2020 (listed by Brite as "HD PRO - BAL29 - Test Report")
- Brite Decking - Accessories page (clips, screws, battens, gap note)
- Acronem Consulting Engineering Evaluation Certificate ACA241108 250501 for Brite Decking HD Pro 138 x 23 mm (2 May 2025)
- Warringtonfire Australia simulated bushfire test report FRT200102.1 (AS 1530.8.1:2007, BAL-29, test date 19 Nov 2018, issued 6 May 2020) on Brite Decking WPC Traditional Solid deck boards (listed by Brite as "Flame Protect - BAL29 - Test Report")
- Warringtonfire Australia Certificate of test SFCFRT200102.1 (6 May 2020) summarising report FRT200102.1
- Brite Decking - Bushfire Decking page (BAL-29 range and FAQ; page modified 2026-09-21)
- Brite Decking - Colour Palette page (swatch images and range labels)
Facts are taken from the highest-ranked source (certificates and test reports, then install guides and datasheets, then warranties, then web pages); when sources disagree the specification says so, and safety facts take the conservative value. Every plan the designer draws from these figures is a concept plan, not for construction: the span tables behind its framing have been checked by a structural engineer, but a builder, building surveyor or certifier must check the plan before you build.
Similar boards
Other Brite Decking ranges, and boards of the same material in similar colours.
Priceset stateBrite DeckingComposite
HD Urban X
- Ash Grey
- Teak Wood
- Dark Wood
- Antique
- Beach Sand
- Cape Grey
Board: 138 × 23 mmCore: Hollow coreFixing: Hidden clips or screwsPrice: Price on request
Priceset stateBrite DeckingComposite
NextGen Titanium
- Fossil
- Graphite
- Tawny
- Umber
Boards: 140–210 mm wideCap: CappedFixing: Hidden clips or screwsPrice: Price on request
Priceset stateBrite DeckingComposite
NextGen Titanium Signature
Board: 140 × 25 mmFixing: Hidden clips or screwsPrice: Price on request
Priceset stateEkodeckComposite
Designer Series
- Alpine Ash
- Ironwood
- Backbeach
- Leatherwood
- Riverbank Red
- Estate Brown
Board: 137 × 23 mmCap: CappedFixing: Hidden clips or screws









