UltraDeck Essence in Charcoal
UltraDeckCompositeHollow core
- Photo 1: Dark grey composite deck meeting pale pool tiles beside a rendered home, with grain running along the boards
- Photo 2: Dark grey composite deck under a covered alfresco at dusk, with outdoor lounges and the edge of a pool
- Photo 3: UltraDeck Essence composite decking board face in Charcoal, a dark grey with embossed woodgrain, shown as a full-length swatch strip
- Photo 4: Brown composite deck on a covered elevated patio with black aluminium balustrade, looking out over a backyard
- Photo 5: Small pale greige composite deck platform built into a garden corner beside a rendered planter wall
- Photo 6: Dark brown composite pool deck at dusk wrapping a lit swimming pool and a covered alfresco dining area
- Photo 7: Covered brown composite deck with black balustrade, seen along its length toward a lawn and side fence
- Photo 8: UltraDeck Essence composite decking board face in Beachwood, a pale greige with embossed woodgrain, shown as a full-length swatch strip
- Photo 9: UltraDeck Essence composite decking board face in Havana, a deep chocolate brown with embossed woodgrain, shown as a full-length swatch strip
- Photo 10: UltraDeck Essence composite decking board face in Teak, a reddish mid-brown with embossed woodgrain, shown as a full-length swatch strip
$63 per m² across Australia, inc GST
$49 per 5.4 m board
Set your state
- Board size
- 138 × 23 mm5.4 m lengths
- Cap
- Capped all roundA tougher outer shell that resists stains and fading
- Core
- Hollow
- Fixing
- Hidden clips or face screwsClipFix 6mm glass-filled nylon hidden deck clip
- Warranty
- 10 years, residential
- Joist centres
- 400 mm maxResidential; 350 mm commercial
Charcoal: render colour, indicative. Sampled from the maker’s swatch image (Maker’s web page) on 6 Oct 2026 for the designer’s 3D view; never the real board. Order a sample before you choose.
Specifications
Every published fact, with its source and the day it was checked.
- hollow corecapclip groove13823
Deck board 138 × 23 mm · 5.4 m, drawn with hollow core, capped on every face, grooved on both edges for hidden clips
- 13810
Fascia 138 × 10 mm · 2.5 m, drawn with hollow core, capped on every face
- 13823
Edge board 138 × 23 mm · 5.4 m, drawn with hollow core, capped on every face, square edges
The board
| Fact | Published value | Source · checked |
|---|---|---|
| Material | Wood-plastic composite | Maker’s web page · checked |
| Core | Hollow | Maker’s web page · checked |
| Cap | Capped all round (360°) | Maker’s web page · checked |
| Deck board | 138 × 23 mm, grooved both edges · 5.4 m lengths How this was readHollow-core board with four 25 x 12.5 mm cavities and side grooves for hidden clips (profile drawing on the product page). | Maker’s datasheet · checked |
| Weight (138 × 23) | 2.5 kg per metre How this was read138x23-grooved: Technical sheet: 2.53 kg/m (13.65 kg per 5.4 m board). (kg per lineal metre, keyed by profile id) | Maker’s datasheet · checked |
Installation
| Fact | Published value | Source · checked |
|---|---|---|
| Max joist centres, residential | 400 mm | Maker’s datasheet · checked |
| Max joist centres, commercial | 350 mm How this was readTechnical sheet: non-residential activities up to 2.7 kN (including residential stairs and landings) = maximum 350 mm centre to centre. | Maker’s datasheet · checked |
| Max joist centres, boards laid diagonally | 350 mm How this was readGeneric Installation web page: "350mm for commercial and diagonal layouts" (it does not distinguish ranges; it also quotes 450 mm residential, which exceeds the Essence limit). No diagonal figure is in the technical sheet or guide. | Maker’s web page · checked |
| Gap between boards | 6 mmSources disagree. Maker’s install guide says 4 (4 mm board-spacing system with 4 mm clips.). The published value comes from the higher-ranked source; safety facts take the conservative one. | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| End gap rule | End gap at each board end depends on board length and ambient temperature at installation (10 / 20 / 30 / 40 deg C): 1 m to 3 m boards 2 / 1 / 1 / 1 mm; 4 m and 5.4 m boards 3 / 2 / 1 / 1 mm (example: 5.4 m board at 20 deg C = 2 mm). Reduce the gap if boards are hotter than ambient; reduce mitre-joint end gaps by 2 mm; keep at least 3 mm from a wall at the first C-Clip; use breaker boards on decks longer than 5.4 m.Sources disagree. Maker’s web page says 5-8 mm end gaps; 10 mm to fixed structures (Generic Installation web page.). The published value comes from the higher-ranked source; safety facts take the conservative one. | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| Butt joints | Board ends land on a noggin How this was readThe guide does not recommend butt joints at all ("regardless of your deck's size") and prefers breaker boards or picture framing; its breaker-board and picture-frame details show a noggin between joists under the breaker board. No double-joist rule is given. Boards must span at least two supports (three joists). | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| Minimum clearance under the boards | 40 mmSources disagree. Maker’s web page says 25 (Generic Installation web page: minimum 25 mm air gap.). The published value comes from the higher-ranked source; safety facts take the conservative one. | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| Subframes | timber and steel How this was readPer fixing: ClipFix 6mm glass-filled nylon hidden deck clip (Quickfix 6 mm system: Standard Clips plus one Locking Clip per board) -> timber/steel; UltraDeck 4 x 30 mm stainless steel or black hidden deck clips (4 mm board-spacing system, with C-Clips for start/finish) -> subframes not stated; UltraDeck stainless steel starter clips / anti-creep clips -> subframes not stated; Colour-matched composite decking screws (face fixing for the last board, edges and fascia) -> timber/steel | Maker’s install guide · checked |
ClipFix 6mm glass-filled nylon hidden deck clip How this was readClipFix 6mm glass-filled nylon hidden deck clip (Quickfix 6 mm system: Standard Clips plus one Locking Clip per board) | Maker’s install guide · checked | |
UltraDeck 4 x 30 mm stainless steel or black hidden deck… How this was readUltraDeck 4 x 30 mm stainless steel or black hidden deck clips (4 mm board-spacing system, with C-Clips for start/finish) | Maker’s install guide · checked | |
| Fixing: hidden clip | UltraDeck stainless steel starter clips / anti-creep clips | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| Fixing: face screw | Colour-matched composite decking screws (face fixing for the last board, edges and fascia) | Maker’s install guide · checked |
| Installation guide | Maker’s install guide · checked |
Tested performance
| Fact | Published value | Source · checked |
|---|---|---|
| Slip resistance (AS 4586) | P4 (wet pendulum) | Maker’s datasheet · checked |
Warranty
| Fact | Published value | Source · checked |
|---|---|---|
| Warranty, residential | 10 years How this was readResidential application (a natural person's domicile, purchased solely for personal/domestic use). Pro-rata: claim value falls in steps over the term. | Maker’s warranty · checked |
| Warranty, commercial | 5 years How this was readCommercial application: maximum 5 years. | Maker’s warranty · checked |
| Warranty conditions | Non-transferable (original purchaser from an authorised UltraDeck distributor). Written notice with photos within 30 days of discovering a defect. Covers defects, splitting, rot, splintering and termite damage when installed to the guide; mould/mildew-related defects are limited to 2 years; excludes fading/colour change from wear and weathering, staining from foreign substances (including mould, dirt, grease, oil), movement of the supporting structure, overloading, minor splits at screws and natural colour variation. Remedy is repair, replacement or a refund of part of the purchase price; installation costs are not covered. No fade or stain warranty is offered. | Maker’s warranty · checked |
Other published facts (4)
Other published facts
| Fact | Published value | Source · checked |
|---|---|---|
| Capping read from the profile drawing | The technical drawing on the product page shows a cap layer (labelled "Capping layer.08") drawn continuously around the whole perimeter, with Colour A and Colour B and embossed woodgrain on both faces (reversible). The text never states the number of capped faces; recorded as 360 from the drawing. | Maker’s web page · checked |
| Material properties (technical sheet) | Density 1.222 g/cm3; water absorption 0.75% by weight; linear thermal expansion 3.71 x 10^-5 cm/cm/deg C; creep recovery 92%; mould resistance rating 0 (ISO 16869). | Maker’s datasheet · checked |
| Edge board as listed in the shop | The shop page lists the Edge Board as 183 x 23 x 5400 mm with solid edges and no groove (the technical sheet and drawing say 138 mm wide). | Maker’s web page · checked |
| Construction wording | Guide: boards are made from a blend of reclaimed timber fibres and both new and recycled plastics (no percentage given); co-extruded composite. | Maker’s install guide · checked |
These are the rows for this colour’s board. The full specification, with every profile, is on the UltraDeck Essence page.
Every fact here carries its source and the day it was checked. Documents opened 6 Oct 2026.
Prices by state
Set your state once and every price on this site is quoted for it, including GST. Then this page shows the UltraDeck Essence prices in your state: each the average of the sellers we track there.
UltraDeck Essence: national averages, across Australia
| Board size | Average $/m² | Per board | Sellers | Prices to |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| UltraDeck Essence 138 × 23 | $63.01 | $49 / 5.4 m | 1 |
Prices from 1 seller across Australia. We don’t list the whole market, so other sellers may have different prices. Seen 15 Oct 2026.
Prices include GST. Each is the average of the sellers we track for that board, each seller counted once, with any price more than 25% from the middle one left out; sample data is badged.
How we get these prices
Each price is an average of the retail prices we have seen for that board, with any price more than 25% above or below the middle price left out. Each seller counts once. Prices include GST and are per square metre of deck (the board’s cover width plus the gap beside it) and per board. Prices were seen on the dates shown on sellers’ own price lists and websites; confirm with the seller before you buy.
Per lineal metre: UltraDeck Essence 138 × 23 average $9.07.
Customer reviews
We publish every review that meets our review policy, positive or negative. Labels show when a reviewer was invited, got something for writing it, or works in the industry.
No reviews yet. Be the first to review it.
Documents
The maker’s own documents, linked where they publish them (never re-hosted).
- Installation guideUltra Deck LUXE Series Installation Guide, version V2.12 (undated; lists gaps and spans table, ventilation, expansion-gap table, clip systems)
- DatasheetUltradeck Essence Series - Technical Information sheet
- DatasheetUltraDeck range flyer 2026 (series, board size, colours, warranty years)
- WarrantyUltradeck Essence Series Warranty (10-year residential)
All 9 sources behind this page
- UltraDeck Essence Teak product page (specifications: hollow core, 400 mm centres, 10-year residential)
- Ultradeck Essence Series - Technical Information sheet
- UltraDeck range flyer 2026 (series, board size, colours, warranty years)
- Ultra Deck LUXE Series Installation Guide, version V2.12 (undated; lists gaps and spans table, ventilation, expansion-gap table, clip systems)
- Ultradeck Essence Series Warranty (10-year residential)
- UltraDeck Fascia product page (138 x 10 x 2500 mm slim fascia)
- UltraDeck Installation page (generic summary: joist spacing, ventilation, expansion gaps)
- UltraDeck Edge Board product page (dimensions as listed in the shop)
- UltraDeck - Colours and ranges page (colour names, swatch images per range)
Facts are taken from the highest-ranked source (certificates and test reports, then install guides and datasheets, then warranties, then web pages); when sources disagree the specification says so, and safety facts take the conservative value. Every plan the designer draws from these figures is a concept plan, not for construction: the span tables behind its framing have been checked by a structural engineer, but a builder, building surveyor or certifier must check the plan before you build.
Similar boards
Other UltraDeck ranges, and boards of the same material in similar colours.
Priceset stateUltraDeckComposite
LuxNature
- Beachwood
- Caribbean
- Havana
- Charcoal
- Byron
- Sea Salt
- and 2 more
Board: 138 × 23 mmCap: CappedFixing: Hidden clips or screws
Priceset stateUltraDeckComposite
LuxWood
- Teak
- Havana
- Charcoal
- Sea Salt
- and 2 more
Board: 138 × 23 mmCap: CappedFixing: Hidden clips or screws
Priceset stateEkodeckComposite
Designer Series
- Alpine Ash
- Ironwood
- Backbeach
- Leatherwood
- Riverbank Red
- Estate Brown
Board: 137 × 23 mmCap: CappedFixing: Hidden clips or screws
Priceset stateModWoodComposite
Xtreme Guard
- Charwood
- Fire Brick
- Koko Brown
- Magnetic Grey
- Sandy Bay
Board: 137 × 23 mmCap: CappedFixing: Hidden clips or screws



