Skip to content

UltraDeck Essence

UltraDeckCompositeHollow core

$63/m² · AU

$63 per m² across Australia, inc GST

$49 per 5.4 m board

Average of 1 seller across Australia · prices to 15 Oct 2026

Prices differ by state: set yours for the average where you live.

Set your state

Used for state prices. Kept on this device; never guessed from your location.

Or pick a state

4 colours: pick one to see it

Board size
138 × 23 mm5.4 m lengths
Cap
Capped all roundA tougher outer shell that resists stains and fading
Core
Hollow
Fixing
Hidden clips or face screwsClipFix 6mm glass-filled nylon hidden deck clip
Warranty
10 years, residential
Joist centres
400 mm maxResidential; 350 mm commercial

Colours (4)

Photos are the maker’s, credited. Render colours are sampled from the maker’s swatch images and are indicative only: order a sample before you choose.

Specifications

Every published fact, with its source and the day it was checked.

  • hollow corecapclip groove13823

    Deck board 138 × 23 mm · 5.4 m, drawn with hollow core, capped on every face, grooved on both edges for hidden clips

  • 13810

    Fascia 138 × 10 mm · 2.5 m, drawn with hollow core, capped on every face

  • 13823

    Edge board 138 × 23 mm · 5.4 m, drawn with hollow core, capped on every face, square edges

3 profiles drawn to one scale from the published sizes · Maker’s datasheet · checked . Interiors are schematic: cell shapes and cap thickness vary by maker.

The board

FactPublished valueSource · checked
Material
Wood-plastic composite
Maker’s web page · checked
Core
Hollow
Maker’s web page · checked
Cap
Capped all round (360°)
Maker’s web page · checked
Deck board
138 × 23 mm, grooved both edges · 5.4 m lengths
How this was read

Hollow-core board with four 25 x 12.5 mm cavities and side grooves for hidden clips (profile drawing on the product page).

Maker’s datasheet · checked
Weight (138 × 23)
2.5 kg per metre
How this was read

138x23-grooved: Technical sheet: 2.53 kg/m (13.65 kg per 5.4 m board). (kg per lineal metre, keyed by profile id)

Maker’s datasheet · checked
Edge board
138 × 23 mm, square edges · 5.4 m lengths
Maker’s datasheet · checked
Fascia
138 × 10 mm, no edge profile · 2.5 m lengths
How this was read

Slim fascia (subframes, edges, risers and fascia areas), sold colour-matched to each range.

Maker’s web page · checked

Installation

FactPublished valueSource · checked
Max joist centres, residential
400 mm
Maker’s datasheet · checked
Max joist centres, commercial
350 mm
How this was read

Technical sheet: non-residential activities up to 2.7 kN (including residential stairs and landings) = maximum 350 mm centre to centre.

Maker’s datasheet · checked
Max joist centres, boards laid diagonally
350 mm
How this was read

Generic Installation web page: "350mm for commercial and diagonal layouts" (it does not distinguish ranges; it also quotes 450 mm residential, which exceeds the Essence limit). No diagonal figure is in the technical sheet or guide.

Maker’s web page · checked
Gap between boards
6 mmSources disagree. Maker’s install guide says 4 (4 mm board-spacing system with 4 mm clips.). The published value comes from the higher-ranked source; safety facts take the conservative one.
Maker’s install guide · checked
End gap rule
End gap at each board end depends on board length and ambient temperature at installation (10 / 20 / 30 / 40 deg C): 1 m to 3 m boards 2 / 1 / 1 / 1 mm; 4 m and 5.4 m boards 3 / 2 / 1 / 1 mm (example: 5.4 m board at 20 deg C = 2 mm). Reduce the gap if boards are hotter than ambient; reduce mitre-joint end gaps by 2 mm; keep at least 3 mm from a wall at the first C-Clip; use breaker boards on decks longer than 5.4 m.Sources disagree. Maker’s web page says 5-8 mm end gaps; 10 mm to fixed structures (Generic Installation web page.). The published value comes from the higher-ranked source; safety facts take the conservative one.
Maker’s install guide · checked
Butt joints
Board ends land on a noggin
How this was read

The guide does not recommend butt joints at all ("regardless of your deck's size") and prefers breaker boards or picture framing; its breaker-board and picture-frame details show a noggin between joists under the breaker board. No double-joist rule is given. Boards must span at least two supports (three joists).

Maker’s install guide · checked
Minimum clearance under the boards
40 mmSources disagree. Maker’s web page says 25 (Generic Installation web page: minimum 25 mm air gap.). The published value comes from the higher-ranked source; safety facts take the conservative one.
Maker’s install guide · checked
Subframes
timber and steel
How this was read

Per fixing: ClipFix 6mm glass-filled nylon hidden deck clip (Quickfix 6 mm system: Standard Clips plus one Locking Clip per board) -> timber/steel; UltraDeck 4 x 30 mm stainless steel or black hidden deck clips (4 mm board-spacing system, with C-Clips for start/finish) -> subframes not stated; UltraDeck stainless steel starter clips / anti-creep clips -> subframes not stated; Colour-matched composite decking screws (face fixing for the last board, edges and fascia) -> timber/steel

Maker’s install guide · checked
Fixing: hidden clip
ClipFix 6mm glass-filled nylon hidden deck clip
How this was read

ClipFix 6mm glass-filled nylon hidden deck clip (Quickfix 6 mm system: Standard Clips plus one Locking Clip per board)

Maker’s install guide · checked
Fixing: hidden clip
UltraDeck 4 x 30 mm stainless steel or black hidden deck…
How this was read

UltraDeck 4 x 30 mm stainless steel or black hidden deck clips (4 mm board-spacing system, with C-Clips for start/finish)

Maker’s install guide · checked
Fixing: hidden clip
UltraDeck stainless steel starter clips / anti-creep clips
Maker’s install guide · checked
Fixing: face screw
Colour-matched composite decking screws (face fixing for the last board, edges and fascia)
Maker’s install guide · checked
Installation guideMaker’s install guide · checked

Tested performance

FactPublished valueSource · checked
Slip resistance (AS 4586)
P4 (wet pendulum)
Maker’s datasheet · checked

Warranty

FactPublished valueSource · checked
Warranty, residential
10 years
How this was read

Residential application (a natural person's domicile, purchased solely for personal/domestic use). Pro-rata: claim value falls in steps over the term.

Maker’s warranty · checked
Warranty, commercial
5 years
How this was read

Commercial application: maximum 5 years.

Maker’s warranty · checked
Warranty conditions
Non-transferable (original purchaser from an authorised UltraDeck distributor). Written notice with photos within 30 days of discovering a defect. Covers defects, splitting, rot, splintering and termite damage when installed to the guide; mould/mildew-related defects are limited to 2 years; excludes fading/colour change from wear and weathering, staining from foreign substances (including mould, dirt, grease, oil), movement of the supporting structure, overloading, minor splits at screws and natural colour variation. Remedy is repair, replacement or a refund of part of the purchase price; installation costs are not covered. No fade or stain warranty is offered.
Maker’s warranty · checked
Other published facts (4)

Other published facts

FactPublished valueSource · checked
Capping read from the profile drawing
The technical drawing on the product page shows a cap layer (labelled "Capping layer.08") drawn continuously around the whole perimeter, with Colour A and Colour B and embossed woodgrain on both faces (reversible). The text never states the number of capped faces; recorded as 360 from the drawing.
Maker’s web page · checked
Material properties (technical sheet)
Density 1.222 g/cm3; water absorption 0.75% by weight; linear thermal expansion 3.71 x 10^-5 cm/cm/deg C; creep recovery 92%; mould resistance rating 0 (ISO 16869).
Maker’s datasheet · checked
Edge board as listed in the shop
The shop page lists the Edge Board as 183 x 23 x 5400 mm with solid edges and no groove (the technical sheet and drawing say 138 mm wide).
Maker’s web page · checked
Construction wording
Guide: boards are made from a blend of reclaimed timber fibres and both new and recycled plastics (no percentage given); co-extruded composite.
Maker’s install guide · checked

Every fact here carries its source and the day it was checked. Documents opened 6 Oct 2026.

Prices by state

Set your state once and every price on this site is quoted for it, including GST. Then this page shows the UltraDeck Essence prices in your state: each the average of the sellers we track there.

Used for state prices. Kept on this device; never guessed from your location.

Or pick a state

UltraDeck Essence: national averages, across Australia

Board sizeAverage $/m²Per boardSellersPrices to
UltraDeck Essence 138 × 23$63.01$49 / 5.4 m1

Prices from 1 seller across Australia. We don’t list the whole market, so other sellers may have different prices. Seen 15 Oct 2026.

Prices include GST. Each is the average of the sellers we track for that board, each seller counted once, with any price more than 25% from the middle one left out; sample data is badged.

How we get these prices

Each price is an average of the retail prices we have seen for that board, with any price more than 25% above or below the middle price left out. Each seller counts once. Prices include GST and are per square metre of deck (the board’s cover width plus the gap beside it) and per board. Prices were seen on the dates shown on sellers’ own price lists and websites; confirm with the seller before you buy.

Per lineal metre: UltraDeck Essence 138 × 23 average $9.07.

Customer reviews

Write a review of Essence

We publish every review that meets our review policy, positive or negative. Labels show when a reviewer was invited, got something for writing it, or works in the industry.

No reviews yet. Be the first to review it.

Documents

The maker’s own documents, linked where they publish them (never re-hosted).

All 9 sources behind this page
  1. UltraDeck Essence Teak product page (specifications: hollow core, 400 mm centres, 10-year residential) · UltraDeck (ultradeck.com.au) · opened
  2. Ultradeck Essence Series - Technical Information sheet · UltraDeck (TGM Industries Pty Ltd) · opened
  3. UltraDeck range flyer 2026 (series, board size, colours, warranty years) · UltraDeck (TGM Industries Pty Ltd) · opened
  4. Ultra Deck LUXE Series Installation Guide, version V2.12 (undated; lists gaps and spans table, ventilation, expansion-gap table, clip systems) · UltraDeck (TGM Industries Pty Ltd) · opened
  5. Ultradeck Essence Series Warranty (10-year residential) · UltraDeck (TGM Industries Pty Ltd, ACN 154 662 272) · opened
  6. UltraDeck Fascia product page (138 x 10 x 2500 mm slim fascia) · UltraDeck (ultradeck.com.au) · opened
  7. UltraDeck Installation page (generic summary: joist spacing, ventilation, expansion gaps) · UltraDeck (ultradeck.com.au) · opened
  8. UltraDeck Edge Board product page (dimensions as listed in the shop) · UltraDeck (ultradeck.com.au) · opened
  9. UltraDeck - Colours and ranges page (colour names, swatch images per range) · UltraDeck (ultradeck.com.au) · opened

Facts are taken from the highest-ranked source (certificates and test reports, then install guides and datasheets, then warranties, then web pages); when sources disagree the specification says so, and safety facts take the conservative value. Every plan the designer draws from these figures is a concept plan, not for construction: the span tables behind its framing have been checked by a structural engineer, but a builder, building surveyor or certifier must check the plan before you build.

Similar boards

Other UltraDeck ranges, and boards of the same material in similar colours.

  • Priceset state

    UltraDeckComposite

    LuxNature

    • Beachwood
    • Caribbean
    • Havana
    • Charcoal
    • Byron
    • Sea Salt
    • and 2 more

    Board: 138 × 23 mmCap: CappedFixing: Hidden clips or screws

  • Priceset state

    UltraDeckComposite

    LuxWood

    • Teak
    • Havana
    • Charcoal
    • Sea Salt
    • and 2 more

    Board: 138 × 23 mmCap: CappedFixing: Hidden clips or screws

  • Priceset state

    NewTechWoodComposite

    Terrace

    • Antique
    • Blackbutt
    • Teak
    • Ipe
    • Silver Grey

    Board: 138 × 25 mmCap: CappedFixing: Hidden clips or screws

  • Priceset state

    NewTechWoodComposite

    Soho

    • Blonde Oak
    • Merbau
    • Grey Ironbark

    Board: 138 × 25 mmCap: CappedFixing: Hidden clips or screws